Bailey’s Banana Bread with Pine Nuts

Last September a local store donated an entire pallet of bananas to the school where my wife works. They handed out bananas to everyone that was willing and then looked for unlocked cars to share the wealth! (kidding). My wife ended up bringing home quite a few so we dried half of them in the dehydrator and the other half we peeled and froze and then bagged up for use later. Two weeks later she brings home another truckload that are frozen with skins on! Wow! Now what?  Banana Bread.

I have made quite a few loaves of this in the last 5 months and I have to say that frozen bananas make excellent Banana Bread! My favorite recipe calls for Bailey’s Irish Cream and Pine Nuts. The loaf is moist and flavorful … how can it not be with Bailey’s in it!

Bailey’s Banana Bread with Pine Nuts

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe bananas (mashed)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter (softened)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • dash salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 3 Tablespoons Bailey’s Irish Cream
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts

Mix ingredients well and spoon into a greased loaf pan.(I would suggest lining bottom of loaf pan with parchment paper for easy removal from pan)

Bake at 350f for 1 hr.

This recipe makes Great Banana Muffins too!

Image

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Breads, Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bailey’s Banana Bread with Pine Nuts

  1. Dan, I shared your blog on my personal facebook timeline and my face book page that is connected to my blog. Gotta love a guy that puts Bailey’s in his banana bread. I will now take the time to read the rest of your blog. Keep it up!-Donna

  2. CastIronDan says:

    Thanks Donna! I ‘ll check out more of your blog as well…

  3. Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

    I have a great recipe for banana bread, and it does not call for Bailey’s Irish Cream. I never considered adding a liqueur to it, but it sounds so good that I think I might have to try this! 🙂

  4. calichechic says:

    The recipe looks really good. Now if my Aleppo pines would just hurry up and grow!

  5. Pingback: Getting Ready For The Holidays | Cast Iron Dan

Leave a Reply

