Honey Smoked Turkey Breast

Image

With the recent success of my Pastrami Project I have started looking around for other meats that I can use my stockpile of Morton’s Tender Quick on! Why not turkey? I found a nice turkey breast at the local store, applied dry rub and cured it for two days and smoked it with hickory chips! The result  was sweet, smoky and moist! It made a great dinner and I am sure that it is going to make some excellent turkey sandwiches this week! This is another recipe I’m sure I will be making again  (and again!)

The turkey breast that I used was a 6 lb bone-in breast. I simply removed the skin and filleted the breast and then stabbed the meat once every square inch with the knife. If you can locate a boneless breast, that’s great! Half the work is done for you…. Image

Dry Rub:

Completely cover turkey breasts with rub and drop them into a gallon size Ziplock bag. Store in refrigerator, flipping bag over every 12 hours. Marinate for 1 or 2 days.

Remove breasts from bag and rinse well. Soak in a bowl of cool water for 1/2 hour, then repeat 2 more times. This may seem a bit over the top, but it is to remove the excess salt from curing.

Pat the breasts dry with a paper towel and drizzle with honey, then place them into the smoker. I used Hickory to smoke  these but I think Applewood would be even better. Use what you prefer!

I smoked the breasts for two hours (Internal temperature was 130f at that point) To make sure that it stayed moist- I pulled the turkey out and put them in a foil covered pan in the oven (300f) until the internal temperature was 160f. Remove from oven and let rest for 15 minutes . The temp will continue to rise to 165 during rest. Image

Slice and serve! Image

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Meat and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Honey Smoked Turkey Breast

  1. Pingback: Home Cured Bacon | Cast Iron Dan

Leave a Reply

