Agave Roasted Pecans with Coconut

Image

Sometime last month I found a great blog post on Agave Roasted Almonds  by Serious Bread Serious Cheese that I just had to try. I made a batch and they were great! Crunchy, Salty and Sweet – I think that they lasted about 12 minutes once my family found them!

Yesterday we had family coming over for dinner… perfect time to make up some more Almonds. Unfortunately, I had used up every almond that we had! Looking around, I found a bag of pecans and next to it a bag of dried young coconut that my wife had just picked up from Costco. Perfect!Image This made a great before dinner snack and the coconut disappeared fast!

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of Pecans
  • 1/4 cup dried young coconut (broken into pecan -sized pieces)
  • 1/3 cup Agave Nectar
  • 1/3 cup washed raw sugar
  • 1 tablespoon coarse sea salt

Mix raw sugar and salt together and reserve.

Roast pecans and coconut in oven at 375f (190c) for 10-12 minutes. (Watch closely so that they don’t overcook!) Pour into mixing bowl.

Heat Agave Nectar in saucepan to boiling. Boil for a few minutes until foam starts to turn a tan color. It’s hard to get an accurate reading because of the small amount of Agave Nectar,  but I usually heat  to 275f (135c) Remove from heat and add to mixing bowl. Stir well to evenly coat.

Stir in sugar mixture and then spread out on parchment paper until nuts cool.

I have made this recipe with many kinds of nuts  – and they are all good! Feel free to experiment, just remember that some nuts roast faster than others so be careful not to over-roast!

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Agave Roasted Pecans with Coconut

  1. lorettafritz says:

    These are excellent! Going to try some with peanuts and almonds this weekend.

  2. CastIronDan says:

    I’m glad that you liked them! Don’t forget to do a post about pickles soon…

  3. lorettafritz says:

    I just made up a batch of these sweet and salty nuts. Used peanuts, cashews, almonds and pecans. I also replace the coconut with cranraisins. I think the raw sugar can be reduced to 1/4 cup – it seemed like a lot when I was mixing it in.

    Yes – pickles are coming…I have to barter with my neighbor for the cucumbers…I didn’t plan any this year!

  4. Dan- I will be trying your recipe for New Year’s Eve. No wait- I will use Loretta’s recipe. Ok, I will try both.

Leave a Reply

