A step backward

Well, I’ve had a bit of a setback in my coffee roasting world this week as I accidentally destroyed the top half of my homemade coffee roaster! It was basically a glass lid with a convection oven motor mounted in it.Image

Before.

Image

After.

Now I know that I can buy a new top for my roaster, (in fact I’ve already ordered one..) The biggest concern this morning was “how am I going to roast until my new lid arrives?”  I will use my heat gun to roast! When I first started out roasting I used a stainless steel bowl, a wooden spoon and a heat gun – it worked pretty good, but there was a lot of stirring by hand involved! this time I will use the “stir crazy” base to my roaster and the heat gun.

Image

The heat gun that I used was a 1400 watt black and decker heat gun. It took me a total of 33 minutes to get to a City Roast – a bit longer than it would normally take , but it is breezy and stormy out today. (That doesn’t happen too often here in the Mojave Desert!) The roast looks good and pretty even. I usually let the coffee rest for 24 hours before I try it so I will update my post with the results…I can’t wait to see how the old heat gun did!

Update: I just tried the coffee and it was great! I could drink this every day… but I won’t! There are so many  great coffees to try. Up next: Guatemala Acatenango Gesha . I have been really wanting to try this coffee. It sounds like an amazing cup… is it worth the $20/lb? I am going to find out soon!

ImageImageImageImage The coffee that I roasted today was Columbia Huila Bruselas from Sweet Maria’s.

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Coffee, DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A step backward

  1. David says:

    You are always welcome to use my roaster!
    I like all the libations you make.

  2. CastIronDan says:

    Thanks David… I miss our roasting sessions! We need to get together soon.

Leave a Reply

