The Best Burger Ever!

Saturday was a bittersweet day for us around here. My youngest daughter moved to Seattle so we took her to Ontario International airport and said goodbye! Sad for us – exciting for her…. Now we have more of a reason to head up north to visit.

My nephew had told me about a restaurant nearby in Rancho Cucamonga that I had to try, so after the airport (and some shopping at Bass Pro) we headed over to Slaters 50/50 burgers. Wow. Burgers made with 50% Ground Beef and 50% Ground Bacon! Oh My… Seriously the best burger I have ever had. ImageThe burgers come in 1/3, 2/3, and 1 lb patties (weight after cooking) You can order straight off of the menu or they have a checklist where you can design your own burger with a myriad of choices.ImageSorry for the bad picture, but you get the idea…. My son was more adventurous than me and added anchovie to his…

While we were waiting for our burgers I had a look at the beer menu… I felt like a kid in a candy shop. They had around 200 beers on tap! I love IPAs and they had 20 great choices in that department. ImageI had the Ritual Hop O Matic.

Our burgers came and they were excellent! I didn’t know what to expect from a burger patty that was 50% Bacon but it was a great combination. I would think that they really have to keep an eye to these while they cook! By the way, they do have regular Beef patties as well.

The most interesting burger that I saw there was the September special…. The Roo. 50% Kangaroo and 50% Bacon. Topped with melted brie, thick cut bacon, huckleberry ketchup and crushed macadamia ricotta. Huckleberry Ketchup? Wow I want some! (Or at least the recipe!)

This was quite the restaurant and when my daughter comes back to visit – we will have a cool place to go to dinner.beertaps

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Meat, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Best Burger Ever!

  1. Laurin Beardsley says:

    I read your post to David…he’s roasting with Mark in the garage. He called back and said “We’re on our way to Day Creek…” 🙂 Your description made our mouths water!

  2. CastIronDan says:

    Thanks Laurin! I’d love to go there with David and Mark.

  3. I have a son in Seattle. He works at Boeing up there. We like to visit in August. It is beautiful that time of year. I grew up in Lake Elsinore on 10 acres, and had a very good friend in Rancho Cucamunga, so I am familiar with your territory.

  4. WOW! That place sounds AWEOME. I just had dinner, but your post is making me hungry again!

  5. Pingback: Christmas Cookies | Cast Iron Dan

Leave a Reply

