Peking Pepper Update

Well it has been 5 months since I posted about the mystery “Peking Peppers” that i found at the nursery – time for an update.

ImageEach plant produced hundreds of small (3/8  to 1/2 inch) long peppers that were pretty hot. My guess of “small and hot” was pretty accurate! I have used these fresh in salsa and am thinking of using them in pepper jelly. (I usually use serrano peppers for that…) I will save the dried peppers to crush into a rub for tri- tip, and of course save some seed for next year.

One of my friends at work also grows peppers and every year his garden out produces mine! The only difference between us is he plants his whole garden into 5 gallon buckets. So this year I decided to plant half of my peppers into the ground and the other half in containers.  All of the plants had basically the same soil mixture and each got two doses of miracle gro through the summer but the container plants grew 5 times larger and produced a lot more peppers…. The only reason that I can think of is maybe the peppers like the extra heat that the roots get when they’re in a container? (That seems unlikely though as I live in the Mojave Desert so I believe that all of the roots got some heat!)  ImageCaribbean Red Habanero

So, next year I will be planting all of my peppers in containers!

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Mexican and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peking Pepper Update

  1. Dan,
    I enjoy reading your posts. Most of the bloggers that I follow are women, so it is nice to get a guy’s perspective.
    I plant my fall peppers in containers. That way I can “follow the sun” with them during the winter time and protect them. I then transplant the peppers into the ground in the spring time. I get more peppers the second season.

  2. CastIronDan says:

    Thank You… I appreciate that! I was thinking of protecting my peppers over the winter too. Got to have those peppers!

Leave a Reply

