What I Did on My Winter Vacation

New flock

New flock

Well, it hasn’t been a vacation really… it just feels like it! Usually, you can expect wind and cold in February in the Mojave Desert – but this year I’ve already used the AC in my truck quite a bit. It has been a busy first two months of the year. So much so that I didn’t seem to have the time to update CastironDan much.

My real job is a commercial framer (steel) and we have been working on a few large jobs already this year. All this week I have been working on a remodel at a large retirement complex in Fullerton, CA.

New staircase in the Restaurant

New staircase in the Restaurant

Ceiling in the "Napa Room"

Ceiling in the “Napa Room”

The “Napa” room will be for special events. It will have one long (18’+) table, Venetian plaster and of course, plenty of wine!

i thought this was funny! It's the walker parking lot!

i thought this was funny! It’s the walker parking lot!

I also have been working on the World Gym in Victorville.  These are “Clouds” -custom built out of stainless steel and suspended from the ceiling. The largest one in the picture is 8′ x 12′.

Clouds

Clouds

Artist's renderings always look better!

Artist’s renderings always look better!

We are also constructing and remodeling the Music department at our local college (Victor Valley College)

At home, I have been removing part of our garden to make way for a backyard pond that I have been wanting to put in. It has been perfect weather for working out in the garden (70’s and 80’s)

This project could be a whole post in itself! I still have a way to go on this.

New flock

New flock

Our new chickens that arrived in July ’13 are producing quite a few eggs. We are averaging 15 a day right now …

Eggs

Eggs

I was afraid that we would end up with an entire refrigerator full of eggs  but between my cooking and supplying friends and family we are keeping up with the chickens!

In the kitchen, I built a new countertop for my island and have been putting it to good use!

island

island

The administrator at the school where my wife Daphne works gave me a sourdough starter that is excellent!  He said that his family has kept the same strain of starter going since the mid-80’s!! So far I have made half a dozen loaves of bread, hamburger buns and the best Cinnamon Rolls ever with it. Look for a separate post on the rolls later…

Sourdough

Sourdough

Hamburger buns that are light, yet hold together!

Hamburger buns that are light, yet hold together!

Best Cinnamon Rolls!

Best Cinnamon Rolls!

One other recipe that I will share soon is Cinnamon Pots de Creme! I was trying to come up with a unique dessert for Valentines Day that was easy and this was the result…

Cinnamon Pots de Creme

Cinnamon Pots de Creme

On the Family front, My middle daughter (Claire) has moved back home from Seattle! It’s good to have her back. My oldest daughter (Becky) has just started working for the USPS. Great News!

So this has been my 2014 so far! Busy, but I love it…

New Years Eve Tamales

New Years Eve Tamales

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Chickens, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Did on My Winter Vacation

  1. Nice work Dan! I am most impressed that you can keep up with chickens who produce 15 eggs a day! How many in your flock? And what breeds do you have?

  2. CastIronDan says:

    Well, we sell and give away more than we eat! We have 24 hens and 1 rooster… Our flock has Auracana’s, Cuckoo Maran, Red Stars, and 2 Golden Polish hens.

Leave a Reply

