Locked in the chicken house?

Here is an amusing tale of caution for all of us with backyard flocks of chickens!

Today was a stormy, windy day here in the Mojave Desert. As the rest of my family is out of town for the week I called my best friend Ralph up to have a pint or two of micro brew at our local tap after work. (We sampled the Wolf Among Weeds IPA from Golden Road Brewing which was excellent!)

When I got home I went out to feed the chickens (and cats) and collect the eggs. The wind was blowing at 25-35 mph but it’s not too  bad as it is around 50f. Halfway through collecting the eggs (18 today!) the wind picks up dramatically and blows the door to the chicken house shut! Oh $&!#. What do I do now? I only have an outside latch on the door!wpid-IMAG0168.jpgMy family is 400 miles away. Thank God I have my phone in my pocket, but who do I call that won’t ridicule me forever for letting me get into this situation? I have to say that I built this chicken house in 1988 and this is the first time I have done this! I thought of a few friends I could call, but then I spied the chicken door! It is 13″ x 19″ and I am 52! It wasn’t very graceful or manly but I squeezed through the chicken door and made it out!

So here’s some food for thought for all of you that might find yourself in a similar situation- Make sure that you can escape from your chicken house if you happen to get locked in, or at the very least carry your cell phone with you  so you can call a friend! Without the chicken door or phone I would have had to last 4 days in that chicken house!!

P.S. I will put a different latch on this weekend!

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Chickens, Humour and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Locked in the chicken house?

  1. Sounds like one of my “I love Lucy” moments. But wait you are a guy!.That’s funny Dan.

  2. CastIronDan says:

    Thanks Donna! It was too funny to not share it!

  3. Andy says:

    It’s a real shame no one could have snapped a pic when you were half way out the door.

  4. I am so jealous you have 18 eggs a day! We so have to increase our flock! As for your story…it is so very me…can imagine me doing EXACTLY the same! Hope you had a beer afterwards!

  5. calichechic says:

    LOL. Reminds me of when I was working on the roof. Then the wind blew over my ladder. I froze until my neighbor came out. I yelled and carried on to catch his attention from a block away. He stared at my pantomime of my situation. Then he held up a single finger to signal “Wait a minute.” After a long time, he came out with his wife. They both stared at my pantomime and then held up a single finger to signal “Wait a minute.” They went back into their house. Eventually they came over and put my ladder back up so I could get down off of the roof.

Leave a Reply

