Picnic on Hill 582

So today my wife, Daphne and I went to the 50th birthday party for our good friend David! I’ve known David for years and he is also a fellow coffee roaster… only on a grander scale! (I’d love to have a coffee roasting set up like his…)

wpid-imag0214.jpgThe location of this picnic / birthday party was a hilltop, halfway up the Cajon Pass – very near the Mormon Rocks area, where the San Andreas faultline is  most visible. Hill 582 is located on railway owned land and is a memorial to 4 railroad men. You probably couldn’t get a better vantage point to view and photograph trains going up and down the Cajon Pass. In reading the log in the geocache I saw that this place is visited by railroad enthusiasts from around the world!

wpid-imag0215.jpg

wpid-imag0197.jpg

wpid-imag0201.jpg

 

When I first learned of the picnic I decided I was going to make Pastrami to share. The party was a week away so I’d better hurry! I also thought I’d try making pastrami with a tri tip roast instead of brisket. The meat had just a bit of marbling and was excellent! (Even better than the brisket…) It did not last long.

wpid-imag0212.jpg

The other popular thing that I brought was the Habanero Sierra Jack Cheese that I bought at Costco. The peppers gave the cheese a bite, but not so hot to burn. Very tasty! I said that I have been toying with the idea of making cheese… now I really want to make some just like that!

The weather was sunny and in the low 70’s and I believe all 33 guests on that hill had a great time.

Happy 50th David!

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in curing meat, Meat, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Picnic on Hill 582

  1. Pingback: The Pastrami Project V2.0 | Cast Iron Dan

Leave a Reply

