Time for more Bacon…

wpid-20140907_104904.jpgWell, Fall is almost here and I just cooked up that last of my bacon stash over the weekend… time to make some bacon. I went back to my local grocery store (Vallarta) to see if they had any pork belly in the back for me. The good news was yes, they had pork belly, the bad news was that it was already cut up into 1 lb chunks. I prefer to cure larger pieces because its easier to slice it all up later but I wasn’t going to pass it up!

I bought 11 lbs and made 3 different cures this time…

Rosemary Cure:

  • 4 lbs pork belly
  • 4 Tablespoons Morton’s Tender Quick (2 oz)
  • 4 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 cup fresh rosemary – cut into pieces
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder

Black Pepper Cure

  • 4 lbs pork belly
  • 4 Tablespoons Mortons Tender Quick
  • 4 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons coarsely ground Black Pepper

Cardamom Nutmeg Cure

  • 3 lbs pork belly
  • 3 Tabespoons Morton’s Tender Quick
  • 3 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon  ground Cardamom
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground Nutmeg

The rest of the process is simple and can be found here in my previous bacon recipe. The only thing that I do different now is I smoke the meat for approximately 2 hours and stop when the bacon hits 125f.

wpid-20140907_180826.jpg

I can’t wait to try the Cardamom Nutmeg bacon… it just sounds interesting!

I will update when it’s ready…. Dan

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in BBQ, curing meat, DIY, Meat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time for more Bacon…

  1. Bacon? Yay! I will be watching this for sure!

  2. Mr Fitz says:

    That’s reading very interesting!

  3. Dennis says:

    I saw making an episode on making bacon over at Chop and Brew and have been saying I am going to make some since, but keep forgetting. Perhaps this reminder will finally send me to the store for some pork belly…
    – Dennis, Life Fermented Blog

  4. David says:

    Dude !!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

