Pots De Creme

As Valentines Day is almost here, I have been thinking of what I might make my wife for dessert! I know this is one of her favorites so I will repost my recipe from two years ago in case there are others out there trying to decide what to make too!

Cast Iron Dan

Image

Time for a dessert recipe that I can incorporate coffee into! This is a great rich dessert that my family likes -I think you’ll like it too! The combination of the vanilla bean, bittersweet chocolate with the rich coffee with fruit undertones will make you wish you had bigger ramekins!

Image

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup freshly brewed, double strength coffee. (I used some great Columbian coffee that I roasted earlier in the week!)
  • 1 whole Vanilla Bean (Madagascar or Tahitian)
  • 2 cups Heavy Cream
  • 6 oz Bittersweet Chocolate (I used Ghiradelli chips)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 6 egg yolks at room temperature. (4 ounces)

A note about egg yolks- We have our own flock of chickens and the eggs we get can range from small to jumbo size! To keep our recipes consistent we weigh our egg yolks. The average yolk weighs .67 oz (20 grams) so this recipe would take 4.02 oz…

View original post 112 more words

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pots De Creme

  1. Looks pretty good Dan, I just may have to try it.

  2. Pingback: Getting Ready For The Holidays | Cast Iron Dan

Leave a Reply

