Yuzu Tree

wpid-20150416_083753.jpg

I grew up in Orange County, California in the ’60’s and ’70’s. It was a great place to live.. it still had a small town feel, everyone knew everyone and it was safe to stay out after sunset. I miss how it used to be! The one thing that I took for granted though was the climate.It never froze or snowed there -we lived just a few miles from the ocean, our backyard had orange trees and banana trees, my grandparents had huge Avocado trees… unfortunately, I didn’t like avocados at the time. I visit there from time to time. The weather is the same, but the area is not!

In 1978 we moved to Apple Valley, which is approximately 100 miles inland in the desert! Every winter the temperature at some point drops to 15 to 20 degrees F. That means no avocado trees, no banana and no citrus trees! Or does it? I do know of one citrus tree in a neighboring town (Hesperia) that has survived for at least 15 years now. I don’t know what type of citrus but I’d like to find out!

So, in researching cold hardy citrus trees, I stumbled across Yuzu trees! Yuzu is a Japanese citron that is highly sought after for it’s aromatic peel. Best of all it is cold hardy to 10 degrees Fahrenheit! (-12C!) Looking at some blogs, I came across a post about Yuzu “tea” that piqued my interest even more…  Now to find a tree!

The best place that I could find a tree in California  (You can’t import citrus to CA) was Four Winds Growers, but they did not have any trees in stock! They did have other interesting trees though! (How about Australian Finger Lime?) Anyways, I kind of forgot all about it until last week – I checked and the one year old trees were in stock!

wpid-20150416_083835.jpgMy tree arrived yesterday. It may be a while before I get any fruit from it, but you never know…

The funny thing is that even though it’s hardy down to 10 degrees, I’m kind of nervous about planting it outside right away! Maybe it can live for a while next to my lime tree in the bedroom!

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yuzu Tree

  1. Dan, I was born in Orange. Moved to Huntington Beach till I was 11. Moved to Lake Elsinore to a 10 acre farm. It was the 60’s and 70’s. Good times.

    • CastIronDan says:

      I was born in Garden Grove. .. not far away! I spent most of my years in Midway City. (Not many people know where that is, but it’s just north of Huntington Beach) I miss the good old days!

  2. We bought two finger limes some time (late?) last year. They are spiky roosters—almost like the prickly acacia bushes you see on African safari documentaries. The plants seem happy enough but so far we have no fruit. Apparently fruit is harvested around this time of year but we haven’t seen any flowers—so I guess there is always next season! I shall keep you posted!

    Good luck with your Japanese citrus!

  3. Pingback: Yuzu Tree | Caliche Challenge

Leave a Reply

