Home Cured Bacon

Last night I stopped by Costco (Victorville, CA) for a few things and noticed that they actually had pork bellies for sale for $1.99 a pound! So I did the only thing that I could have done… I bought 22 lbs! I know it seems like a lot, but I’ll have to do some sharing…

I divided  the pork into 6 different ziplock bags ( around 4 lbs per bag)

The 6 different cures that I used were:

  • The Macallan and Black Pepper (one of my wife’s favorites…)
  • Rosemary and Herb
  • Cardamom and Apple Juice
  • Rosemary, Coriander and Black Pepper (porkstrami?)
  • The Macallan and Thyme
  • Black Pepper and Apple Juice

wpid-20150516_144909.jpg

If any of you happen to have a costco nearby, you might want to check their meat counter!

Update:

This newest batch is now done and it turned out great! The flavors on the Rosemary Herb cure really came through nice again. (It contained fresh rosemary, thyme, basil, bay leaves, and garlic)

I usually vacuum seal and freeze the bacon until it’s needed…

All smoked and vacuum sealed!

All smoked and vacuum sealed!

Here is my original blog post about home curing bacon in case you missed it! Dan

Cast Iron Dan

With all the posts that I have done over the summer about curing meat, (Pastrami, Smoked Turkey and Canadian Bacon) I think that there is no way I can move on without doing American style Bacon! When fall arrives, a lot of people start dreaming of Pumpkin Spice lattes and such, but not me… I start thinking of Bacon! Good Bacon. Smoky, meaty, sweet bacon – not a slab of bland fat with a ribbon or two of meat running through it!

morebacon

Like all of the other meats that I have posted – making Bacon (ahem) is a relatively simple process.

  • Purchase a Pork Belly
  • Trim  up to manageable pieces
  • Make a Seasoning Cure
  • Refrigerate for a week
  • Rinse
  • Smoke

The best place to find pork bellies is going to be your local butcher shop. Go in and make friends with the butcher! If they don’t have…

View original post 703 more words

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in curing meat, DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home Cured Bacon

  1. goodtogrow says:

    I can practically smell it through the Internet! Mmmmmm!

  2. granny1947 says:

    I shouldn’t have read your post right now…I am starving.
    Thank you for your visits!!!

  3. sarahfoto says:

    my husband has made me ask in every shop we have on the island if they have porkbelcy or can order it in…he’d be very jealous!

Leave a Reply

