First Black Copper Marans Egg!

Well, is has been 6 or so months since our latest batch of chicks hatched, and this week we got our first egg from our only Black Copper Marans hen! The eggs are nice and dark, but seem to vary from day to day… For those who are curious- it took 173 days from hatching to laying her first egg.
wpid-wp-1445109761142.jpeg
I can’t say that I had great success hatching the Black Copper Marans. I ended up putting 24 BCM eggs into the incubator of which only 6 hatched, and 5 of the 6 turned out to be roosters! I am glad that I did get at least one hen though.
wpid-wp-1445108890106.jpeg
We have so many friends and neighbors that are wanting eggs right now that we will probably order some soon from a local hatchery. The cheapest that you can find eggs in a California grocery store right now is about $3 a dozen… thanks to California’s Proposition 2 Law that was limits cage size etc. I don’t expect to see eggs less than $3 again in this state!
wpid-wp-1446170912994.jpeg

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Chickens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First Black Copper Marans Egg!

  1. David says:

    Neighbors!!
    I thought we were friends.
    They don’t want them more than me.

  2. Sara McDaren says:

    & I thought NY was expensive! Beautiful eggs.

  3. CastIronDan says:

    Thanks! I really like the color and pattern on these dark eggs…

  4. faeryfire721 says:

    Definatly a breed on my must have list.

Leave a Reply

