Cast Iron Dan turns three!!

It’s hard to believe that it has been three years already! When I started this blog I figured that it would be more of a place where I could store my recipes and add notes as I went along. I didn’t think I’d really have very many people actually look at my blog, but as of today I have 9800 views from all around the world- A few of them from countries that I’d hardly even heard of!  I have to say that it has been a lot of fun!

So 2016 finds us with another exchange student in the house… This time we have Art from Latvia. He is 15 – the – same age as my son Zack and is a straight A student… He also gets to help eat all of my experiments. The other night I made tamales and as Art got up to get seconds he said that I have “golden hands”…sounds like a compliment to me! Last night he made us Pelmeni, Russian dumplings… one of his traditional family recipes. They were very good!

In December I had a little hands on tutorial on curing bacon at my brother’s house  We had 12 or so people show up and we cured about 40 lbs of bacon and also about 17 lbs of pastrami! It was great to share this craft with family and friends. The greatest part though is now they are already sharing with their friends too!

baconparty2

wp-1450312512144.jpeg

A few days ago I joined “blogging for books” where, as a blogger you can request an available book and the company will send it to you in exchange for an honest review of the book! I don’t want to overwhelm my blog with reviews, but as I see books that I find interesting I will try this out! (Who doesn’t like free books?) You may even want to try it out yourself!
Anyways, thank you for visiting my blog… it has been a fun three years and I hope that you will return for more!
Dan

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in curing meat, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cast Iron Dan turns three!!

  1. +2 says:

    Hoping to buy a smoker this spring…these meat-cooking photos are only making me want to get it sooner, haha. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

