Chocolate Salami and A Book Review!

“Chocolate Salami? umm… that sounds different”. My wife knows that I have been reading a new Charcuterie book and I could tell that she sounded a bit apprehensive. It’s basically chocolate ganache with nuts and spices… no meat! Well ok then, lets do this!

wp-1453434259770.jpeg

This particular version included chocolate (70%), Pumpkin Seeds, Hazelnuts, Almonds, Candied Ginger, Orange Peel, Wine etc… It tasted great-but as you can see, my chocolate rolling skills could use some improvement! I will have to make this again and hone in on my technique.

So, the new charcuterie book that I have been reading is titled “Olympia Provisions” by Elias Cairo and Meredith Erickson. Cairo is a co-owner of two very successful restaurants in Portland Oregon which have their own meat department where you can order his products via Mail Order… including their chocolate salami! If you have the time- check out the Olympia Provisions website.

OlympiaProvisions

This book is full of charcuterie recipes from Olympia Provisions meat department. Each recipe is very detailed- with step by step instructions and features great pictures for each item! I have been wanting to make dry cured salami for quite a while now, but I have never found such detailed instructions that make me feel comfortable enough to make it, however, with this book I know that I can succeed!

Other recipes include:

  • Capicola
  • Parsley Pecorino Sausage
  • Bratwurst
  • Mortadella
  • Frankfurters
  • Bacon
  • Sweetheart Ham
  • Pancetta
  • OP Pepperettes (pepperoni)
  • Salami Etna
  • many more

Also included is a section explaining Nitrates and Nitrites, the difference between curing salt #1 and curing salt #2 and some very interesting facts as well.

The middle section (intermission) of the book tells of the Authors years spent in the Swiss Alps which is very interesting and has excellent photos of the locale.

The second half of this book is loaded with recipes from the two Olympia Provisions restaurants in Portland. Baked Eggs Peperonata, Bratwurst Gravy, Hand Pies, Short Ribs, and of course Chocolate Salami! It is great looking fare that I can’t wait to try! The next time that I am driving through Portland I will have to visit!

One last thing about the quality of the book itself. The pages have a nice weight to them … there were a few times that I actually thought that I had skipped a page! I wish that more books had this nice of a feel!

FTC disclaimer: I received this book free of charge from Blogging For Books in exchange for my honest review. If you think that you might be interested in reviewing books for free also (who doesn’t like free?) check out the link above… Dan

 

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Salami and A Book Review!

  1. Pingback: Mushrooms of the Redwood Coast | Cast Iron Dan

Leave a Reply

