Cleveland Sage!

wp-1459705711511.jpeg

For the last few weeks I have been spending any free time that I have in the garden or around the pond. I’ve been building a new filtration system / waterfall that I will write a post about when (if) I finish! Over the past year I been losing a battle with algae which has turned the pond water green, and I can’t see my koi unless they are right on the surface. That kind of takes the fun out of having a pond, so I hope to have this project done soon!

The other day,while I was at the local hardware store (Lowe’s) picking up more pvc pipe and valves, I went through the garden section to see what else I can spend money on! I found one of my favorite garden herbs – Cleveland Sage! We had one of these in our backyard years ago, but it eventually died and I was never able to find a replacement! The leaves of this sage are really aromatic – just a light brush against the plant produces an intense sage aroma (perfect for cooking!) I grabbed the 2.5 gal container of sage and headed for the checkout. I only wish now that I would have purchased two! Driving home, the cab of my truck smelled like I had a sage scented air freshener hanging from my rear view mirror..

The next day I planted my prize and promptly pruned about 30 leaves that were 2″ to 3″ long and made one of my family’s long time favorite dishes…Sage Chicken.

My next post will be the recipe- which is really good, yet simple to make!

Dan

 

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cleveland Sage!

  1. Pingback: Sage Chicken | Cast Iron Dan

Leave a Reply

