A New Tool For The Garden

Last week on a local gardening page on facebook someone mentioned that they were using a uv black light flashlight to find tomato horn worms in their garden. I have heard in the past that you could use a black light to locate scorpions, but I had no idea that you could purchase a black light flashlight to spot tomato worms! I decided that I had to try it- after a quick search on Amazon , I purchased this model for a whopping $11.99!

wp-1469297415963.jpg

The body is made out of aluminum like a mag light and it feels solid! Here’s a //ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=as_ss_li_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=cairda-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B01A5KLUG2&asins=B01A5KLUG2&linkId=d119cc12e7dfed6bac3d5033b2630678&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true“>link if you wish to check it out!

Two days later- the flash light is here! It’s only sunset, but I have to see if this thing works!

wp-1469291056692.jpg

I found one right away, but it didn’t light up like I imagined that it would… I’ll try it after dark!

wp-1469291131887.jpg

Much better! This is going to be great to keep the tomato worms in check!!  The funny part about this is I handed the flashlight to my wife to let her find a worm too… she looked behind me about 2 feet and there was a scorpion!

wp-1469291194780.jpg

The scorpion was maybe 1.5 inches long.  It was the first one that I’ve seen here in quite a while, although I shouldn’t be surprised… I do live in the Mojave Desert. The next time that I go out to the garden I will make sure to put shoes on!

While I am writing about the garden, I will add an update and some pictures.

Since I have a koi pond  which needs to have a portion of it’s water changed weekly, I do a lot of the watering of the garden directly from the pond. The garden seems to like the extra nutrients (especially the tomatoes!)

I have two varieties of tomatoes this year- I guess they both could be described as large cherry tomatoes (1′ to 1.5″) With the addition of the pond water these plants have completely overgrown the area I planted them in, but they don’t seem to mind (as it is so intensely sunny here, it may actually help them!)

wp-1469291760080.jpg

“blue berries”

wp-1469291788209.jpg

“purple bumblebee” not quite purple yet!

wp-1469291824863.jpg

“Madhu Ras” Honey melon from India

wp-1469290958168.jpg

Ali Baba Watermelon

wp-1469290898704.jpg

Toothache plant

This plant I planted on a whim and then forgot about it until I saw the flowers! It is also called  “Electric Daisy” Chewing on a flower of this plant will make your mouth go numb, while it almost feels like electrical shocks on your tongue while you chew it. It will also make you drool like a hound dog at a barbecue!  I did try this once… probably won’t again!

 

 

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Tool For The Garden

  1. Not only do we use the black light, but we also have LED head lamps. Did you know that LED lights make the eyes of the rabbits, coyotes, rats, and SPIDERS light up. MY 3:30 am chores just got a whole lot scarier!

  2. goodtogrow says:

    Brilliant – I love it!

Leave a Reply

