Pizza in Chico 

This week we are visiting our daughter in the Northern California city of Chico! Chico is a college town that is chock full of trendy eateries, bars and beautiful parks. After a great Mexican food lunch today, we visited Bidwell Park.. 3600 acres of towering trees, green grass and lots of water! Three things that we don’t see a lot of in the Mojave Desert…Big Chico creek runs through the area and on the lower half of the park an ingenious public swimming pool, constructed in 1920, is built on top of the creek. By controlling the outflow of the creek below the pool above can be filled (or drained!) 

Below the pool spillway I noticed a large group of trout hanging out, waiting for something tasty to float by. 

I assume that fishing isn’t allowed in this area of I’m sure there would be a lot of fishermen here! I’d love to come back and explore the other 3,595 acres that I didn’t see…

One of the things that I wanted to do while I am here is teach my daughter the new pizza recipes / techniques that I learned from my review of the book “The Elements of Pizza”.  I had packed up a couple slabs of granite (great pizza stones) headed to a farmers market for some fresh toppings and we had a family pizza party! 

I really like this new recipe… just the right crispness on the bottom of the crust, but light and airy above.  I’ll have to post the recipe soon.

Here’s some nice Thai peppers that I picked up at the farmers market…

 The next thing on our list of things to do on our trip was to visit a place called Bumpass’s Hell in Lassen Volcanic National Park, which we did today. We had a blast, but I realize that I’m going to have to save this for my next post so come back and check it out! 

I had no idea there was such an active Volcanic area in California! 

Dan

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pizza in Chico 

  1. granny1947 says:

    Beautiful pictures. The pizza looks scrumptious though I prefer a thin base.

  2. Yes. Please post recipe soon. 🙂

  3. sarahfoto says:

    Mmmm pizza, looks yummy! I’d love to hear more about the volcanic area, looks like the hot springs we bathed in in Iceland this summer.

Leave a Reply

