The Bread Baker’s Apprentice

breadbaker     Wow! October 23… Where did the summer (and first month of fall) go! The weather is finally cooling off and it feels good to be firing up the oven for baking bread.Considering that, I think I picked a perfect book to review this time around! The weather here in the high desert is rainy (a rarity!) and in between writing this post I am putting some of the techniques that I’ve learned in this book to the test by making some french bread baguettes…

wp-1477269830563.jpg

I was a little timid about slicing the dough before I put these in the oven so they don’t really look that great, but they tasted great with a bowl of soup on this rainy night! With practice, I will get my cuts to look good!  On to the review…

The Bread Baker’s Apprentice 15th Anniversary Edition

Peter Reinhart

This book is not just a collection of popular bread recipes prefaced with a chapter on the history of bread making. This is a bread workshop, a bread class, a virtual toolbox-condensed down to 300+ pages to make us all better bakers. Author Peter Reinhart will teach you the techniques and tips to make great Artisan Breads from start to finish!

One of the things that I really like about this book is the section on pre-ferments, a small portion of fermenting dough made a day earlier and stored overnight in the fridge that improves flavor and structure. This has made a huge difference in my breadmaking! Another thing that I like is how detailed the instructions are- for example, a recipe will list what temperature of water to add while mixing the dough and then add that once kneaded, the dough should be 77f to 81f (and what to do if it’s not!) One more little thing that I learned is how to score your dough properly before baking without collapsing all your hard work!

So far I have only tried two of the 47 formulas (recipes) but this book is a keeper- read The Bread Baker’s Apprentice for yourself… I’m sure you will agree!

Another worthwhile thing to check out is Peter Reinhart’s  blog- PizzaQuest  There is a lot of information here… Recipes, Webisodes, a forum (with more recipes!)  There are even free plans for building your own wood fired pizza oven!

Lastly, congratulations to Ten Speed Press for another informative and interesting book released!

FTC disclaimer:  The opinions that I have stated in my review are entirely my own, and were not influenced by any third party. I received this book from Blogging For Books in exchange for an honest review.

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Breads, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Bread Baker’s Apprentice

  1. Dan, thank you for the great reminder. A few years ago I read an article by Peter in a cooking magazine. At that time, I put his book on my wish list. Your review reminded me to not only buy his book, but to check out his website. Great job on the bread by the way. Keep it up and keep sharing pics of your bread. Maybe I will become one of your apprentices.

  2. sarahfoto says:

    Another book that’s on my husbands bookshelf! This is his favourite and after tasting loads of the recipes I can absolutely recommend it.

  3. paintdigi says:

    Merry Christmas
    Good posts, beautiful blog.
    Congratulations.
    Welcome to see my creations:
    http://paintdigi.com

  4. Wow Dan– this bread looks amazing! I could live on good bread and butter– but haven’t been brave enough to try loaves like these.

Leave a Reply

