The Pastrami Project V2.0

Wow! I just noticed that it has been 4 years since I started this blog. Time sure  has gone by fast! When I started writing, this was a food blog with a emphasis on doing things yourself (because you really can make things at home that are much better than store bought or from a restaurant!)  My Pastrami Project is a great example of that. It is very easy to make at home, the ingredients are inexpensive and it is better than anything that I can buy or order! Over the last 4 years I have made some changes to the original recipe that I believe make it even better yet so her is version 2.0!

The first thing that I changed was the cut of beef. I now use a tri tip roast instead of brisket. The meat is a little less dense and it has a bit more marbling. I have even used top sirloin before and it turned out good!

The other thing that I changed was the curing salt. Morton’s Tenderquick  is an easy and foolproof salt for curing your meat (Just add 1 tablespoon per lb), but it is sometimes hard to locate (even on Amazon) and the price varies widely as such. My new recipe calls for Pink Curing salt (Prague Powder#1) It’s readily available, easy to use and averages about $6 to $8 per lb, but one teaspoon is all that is needed to cure 5 lbs of meat, so it’s pretty economical. (I figure that it cost me 8 cents for the pink curing salt in this recipe!)

I hope that you will try my version 2.0, and if you do- let me know what you think!

wp-1485654111992.jpg

Pastrami V2.0

What you will need:

  • 1 tri tip roast (trimmed of most fat) 3 lbs
  • Pink Curing Salt (readily available on Amazon)
  • Kosher Salt
  • Brown Sugar
  • Black Pepper
  • Ground Coriander (If you live near a Winco store they sell this in their bulk section)
  • Garlic Powder

The recipe below is for a 3 lb roast. If your making a larger amount just make it proportional. Just remember that the pink curing salt needs to be 1 teaspoon for every 5 lbs of meat!

Step 1

Trim tri tip of excess fat and then stab meat with a paring knife approximately once per square inch. Insert meat into a 1 gallon  Ziploc bag or Tupperware that is large enough to hold everything without leaking.

Curing Rub

  • 1/2 teaspoon of Pink Curing Salt (Prague #1)
  • 3 Tablespoons kosher salt
  • 3 Tablespoons Black Pepper (I like coarse ground)
  • 2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Ground Coriander
  • 2 Tablespoons Garlic Powder

Mix rub well and empty into container with meat. Shake bag to cover meat with rub. At this point I usually open container and add 2 tablespoons water- just to get the process going!

Put Ziploc bag into refrigerator and turn over once or twice a day for 7 days so the curing rub can work it’s magic!!.

After 7 days, remove from refrigerator rinse off all of the curing rub and soak in a bowl full of water to remove the excess salts. After half an hour or so- dump the water and refill with fresh and soak for 15 min more. Lay meat out on a cutting board while you mix up the dry rub.

Dry Rub

  • 2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 2 teaspoons black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder

Apply rub to the meat and place in your barbecue to hot smoke to an internal temperature of 150f. If you don’t have a barbecue you could just finish this off in the oven, but I love the smokiness that the hot smoking adds!

Cut yourself off a piece and enjoy what you just created… the best pastrami around!

wp-1485729961886.jpg

Slice the meat thin and against the grain for an awesome pastrami sandwich or pastrami burger!

wp-1485730012065.jpg

Another great thing you can do is take the whole pastrami roast to your next picnic like I did on this outing!

wpid-imag0212.jpg

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in BBQ, curing meat, DIY and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Pastrami Project V2.0

  1. Congratulations on 4 years of blogging! This homemade pastrami sounds amazing, I’m going to totally try this! That pastrami burger looks sooo delicious also. I can’t wait to start gathering all my ingredients. Thank you so much for sharing this!

  2. Kelsie O says:

    This looks so delicious!

  3. Well done Dan, and well written. This certainly looks like something that I would like to try. Better yet, maybe I can get Steve to try making it.

  4. sarahfoto says:

    Mmmm that looks yummy!

  5. Lacey says:

    1) This looks beyond amazing.
    2) 4 years!?! Congrats!

  6. SinginHinn says:

    Wow, that looks good, even if I am veggie! I’ve always thought that cured meat somehow needed months to prepare, but it looks like that’s not the case? Just a few days for the salt rub, and a few hours for the dry rub/hot smoke? is that about the same for any cured meat?

  7. Dan, this looks amazing! I may just try this…but I hope I don’t mess it up!

  8. Wow Dan!! love pastrami but never ever thought of making it myself!! You make it look do-able!! And congratulations on your 4 year mark of blogging– it does go fast!!

Leave a Reply

