Vibrant India (a book review)

Sorry for my extended hiatus from writing lately! Life has been very busy at work, trying to get my garden going, and adding  a new dog to the family – I am working on a post to catch up on past events, but first, here is a book review to get things moving!

vibrant india

I have been keeping an eye out for new cookbooks that feature vegetarian and (mostly) gluten free recipes. When I saw “Vibrant India”, I knew that I found what I’d been looking for. I brought it home, and before I could sit down and look at it- my wife picked it up and read it cover to cover! As a recently diagnosed Celiac patient, she now has to follow a gluten free diet, so this collection of fresh colorful recipes is inspiring. I can see myself making quite a few of these recipes (and be the hero for doing it!)

I always appreciate a cookbook that not only presents a recipe, but teaches me how to make the components of that recipe. This book has a section on making the different spice blends from scratch! Very nice! It also has another section on making chutneys and pickles. (Can’t wait to make the Cilantro Coconut Chutney!)

The section on the author’s Family History and South Indian Food Traditions is very interesting reading. There is a lot of tradition and culture that I did not know, but really sets the tone for this book!

The one thing that intimidated me for a moment was sourcing  some of the listed ingredients in the recipes, especially Curry leaves (not powder). Fortunately, the author has a list of resources for finding your ingredients- not surprisingly, you can buy fresh or dried curry leaves, or even seeds if you care to grow your own, at Amazon!

About the Author Chitra Agrawal

This book was given to me by Blogging For Books in exchange for an honest review. If you are a blogger as well, I would suggest checking out their website – they always have an interesting variety of books available for review!

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vibrant India (a book review)

  1. Interesting, Indian food is one of my favorite types of food. I’ll have to check the book out.

Leave a Reply

