Pulled Pastrami Sandwiches 

Last week we went to my brother’s house for a BBQ. Don just got a new smoker and he cooked up some excellent pulled pork and six racks of baby back ribs. As we were talking, I told my brother that I had some pastrami curing at home and that I’d be smoking it this weekend… that’s when my inspiration struck! I told him I would be making pulled pastrami sandwiches.

These sandwiches turned out awesome – every bit as good as I imagined! The meat turned out very tender… perfect for a sandwich. We will definitely be cooking this again and you should too. (You won’t regret it!)

Of course, you have to start by curing some pastrami. I started with my recipe for Tri Tip Pastrami.  It’s not difficult,  but it takes a week to cure, so plan ahead! Follow the recipe, including the 1.5 to 2 hours in the smoker.

Notice that we had to sample a bit once it was smoked. Great stuff!

Place the meat in a pan and add 1 to 2 cups of water (or get creative… beer? ) cover pan tightly with aluminum foil and place in oven @350f for half hour, then reduce temperature to 250 for 2 hours.


Slice pastrami into chunks so your meat shreds aren’t really long, and then shred with a fork. If it doesn’t shred easily – add more liquid (if needed) and place back in oven for a bit longer!

That’s it!  I made my sandwich with a slice of Swiss cheese and topped it with homemade  1000 island dressing on a super fresh, (unfortunately store bought) hamburger bun.


I do hope that you will give this a try!

Dan

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in curing meat, DIY, Meat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pulled Pastrami Sandwiches 

  1. This looks delicious, Dan. Wow, cured and smoked pastrami sounds awesome.😎

  2. I’ve had your tri tip pastrami recipe printed and the pink curing salt purchased. Now, the weather is finally right and we’re looking into buying a BBQ! So looking forward to trying this recipe out soon! Making this into a sandwich sounds amazing.

  3. granny1947 says:

    It looks delicious.
    But, I am one lazy granny…sounds like a lot of work to make a sandwich.
    And, I don’t have a smoker!

  4. sarahfoto says:

    Oh my god it looks delicious! I have to order my husband to cook me this 😀

  5. Pingback: Week in Review 8/25/17 – BigAndPinkyToes

  6. This post is old now, but since I just discovered it…This is beautiful! Pastrami is my favorite. The pictures make me hungry. I may never get around to curing my own meat, but knowing that this recipe exists makes my world a little happier.

Leave a Reply

