Baby Lobster?

Today I am in San Diego for my nephew’s wedding by the bay! As I walked down to the water before the ceremony I noticed that there are millions of what looks to be baby lobster (they may be some type of oceanic crab, but they look like lobster!) Some are left up on the rocks by high tide, but most are alive in the water.

image

image

image

image
Update: it looks now like these are Pelagic Red Crabs, aka tuna crab or squat lobster. They are found off of the western coast of Mexico, but in warmer years they will extend up the coast into California. Looks like we may get into an El Nino weather pattern here yet! Here is a related article in one of the local papers here…  Red Crabs blanket Orange County Beaches

Anyways, these were a neat find, so I thought I’d share!  Dan

About CastIronDan

I'm a married father of three from Apple Valley, CA that enjoys Cooking, Roasting Coffee and HomeBrewing.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baby Lobster?

  1. Red with long claws. I would have thought lobster too.

  2. CastIronDan says:

    Too bad they weren’t any larger… I would I’d had to go melt some butter!

  3. I can see it now. Hundreds of your subscribers, with bibs on, grabbing in the water for a handful of “tiny lobsters” while pots of hot water bubble on the shore.

Leave a comment